Sarah McLeary

Ceramics and Architecture

Colour, Texture and Form

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I’ve been learning to throw on the wheel, I started off with cylinders, as I thought I wanted to make mugs. I was practicing turning, and made this mug, which I really liked the shape of. It was just practicing the shape, but something about the way the rounded bottom of the mug sits in my hand is really calming and lovely. I looked online at some similar shapes and doodled a lot before making a lot of similar shapes. It’s amazing to me that the slightest variation in the shape can give something a different look. The slight difference in height of the foot, tilt of the rim, all adds up to a totally different shape overall.

photo

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This bowl has a similar feel of the rounded bottom and tucked in rim.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m still experimenting with size of mug, so these photos show how close I got to a ‘standard’ mug size. It’s EXACTLY the same volume as the standard mug. Plus, you get to see the awesome Ice King mug that Chris uses. He’s very much like the Ice King, grumpy and old, and always kidnapping princesses. I digress.

The decoration is something else I’ve been playing with. I have coloured slips, transparent coloured glazes and matt coloured glazes, and these mugs are a mix of all three.

Shiny cone 6 Glaze

44% Potash Feldspar

6% China Clay

2% Bentonite

4% Lithium Carbonate

14% Whiting

5% Zinc Oxide

24% Flint

+ whatever %age of Mason Stain as recommended on the tub

Matt cone 6 Glaze

44% Potash Feldspar

6% China Clay

2% Bentonite

4% Lithium Carbonate

14% Whiting

18% Dolomite

5% Zinc Oxide

24% Flint

+ whatever %age of Mason Stain as recommended on the tubOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This mug has ‘Wedgewood’ coloured slip on the base, with scraffito arounf the bottom, clear glaze over the whole thing, the top dipped in the shiny ‘Wedgewood’ glaze

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The bowl is the shiny blue glaze on top, over the matt blue glaze on the bottom. So, three different applications for the same Mason stain colour.

I’m feeling more confident with throwing, and these are the first things that I would say ‘yes, that is the effect I wanted, and I got it’.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 13, 2015 by in pottery and tagged , , , .
