Sarah McLeary

Ceramics and Architecture

mind and matter

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Over the past six months I have been working on a very personal project. Since I was a teenager I have had tension headaches, and over the past wee while they’d got a lot worse, to the point where my entire weekend would be compromised by the pain, I wouldn’t be able to get out of bed and would be physically sick. They felt like a migraine but they’re definitely tension, in my upper back, neck and head.

Enough was enough! I went to an acupuncturist who really gave me a wake up call, that I could really do something about these painful episodes. Well, in for a penny in for a pound, so since the beginning of the year I’ve been on a programme of outward and inner changes to combat the tension.

I go to ashtanga yoga once or twice a week

I go to the gym twice a week and work on cardio-vascular health as well as building up my back and neck, stretching out my pecs which are incredibly tight due to sitting at a desk all day

I work really, really hard on maintaining good posture at work, and move around once an hour, even if that is only picking up the printing and doing a big stretch while I’m doing it

I work on calming deep breathing that the acupucturist showed me.

I’ve given up chocolate at lunchtime, and drink tonnes of water all through the day. This has really helped my mood stabilise through the day, rather than getting the 3pm crash.

Every day on the way to work I try and put all these things together, walking with good posture, breathing deep and calmly, head up and shoulders down. I take that time to prepare for the day too, so in short trying to find balance in both my body and my brain.

Yeah, it’s quite an overhaul, but to be honest the pain was getting so bad that it was a wake up call that I couldn’t keep fuelling myself with Skittles, sitting hunched at a desk all day totally absorbed in what I was doing and reacting frantically to emails coming in. Now I think I get more done, and better. I still get the headaches, but far far less frequently. I was getting two a week, now it’s one a month. Holistic treatment baby!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 10, 2015 by in Uncategorized.
